The Single Splendid Golden Beast.

The approach of the World Cup is now impossible to ignore, and the fine sport of football is gradually coming to the top of the news. I really enjoyed this article about English striker Wayne Rooney, and in particular the way about soccer and soccer players:

“Maturity is one of the final parts of a player’s development,” Manchester United Manager Alex Ferguson said. “You have to wait until their mid-20s before they get that authority, timing, the maturity, to do things that those qualities bring. This season, he accepted the fact that to get the best out of himself, he had to conserve his energies for the best part of the pitch — the penalty box area.”

Did you know that the English national team is known as the Three Lions, thanks to it’s triple-lion logo? Check out this description:

Despite their close association with England, the appearance of lions on coats of arms was originally derived from the House of Normandy, which arrived on our shores in the form of William the Conqueror in 1066.

The number of lions varied initially between the Norman pair, and the single splendid golden beast on a red ground adopted by Henry II in 1158. When Richard I (known to history as the Lionheart) came to the throne in 1189, the emblem was revised again to depict not one but three majestic creatures.

On the national football logo, which dates back to Victorian times, the three dark blue snarling beasts are interspersed with ten red-and-white English roses.

Magnificent. Rooney himself is a snarling beast.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s