Andrew Sullivan posted this video today, which reminded me how much I like Auntie Mame. One of my favorite movies as a kid, mainly because I thought it would be awesome to hang out with a bunch of cultured, boozy, nonsensical New Yorkers, rather than the sober New Englanders with whom I spent my formative years. (Later I would realize that the reverse experience gave me the proper grounding for my present and on-going cultured, boozy, nonsensical years). Anyway, the whole film is great; the fox-hunting scene is some of the best mad-cap comedy of that era.

Leave a Reply

