20120604-122922.jpg

So after I got laid off on Friday, I had to wait for Cord to get laid off, too, so I could give him a ride back east. Varsity, the terrible sports bar around the corner, was as good as place as any to wait, but I didn’t even get in the door to start drinking because I came across three Turkish kids whose beater of a car had broken down and needed a jump. They’d been waiting for hours, they said, for someone to help them out–could I?

With no pressing business, I was happy to help. They were brothers; one I think was a student here, the younger two were visiting, and they were desperate to get to the airport. It took about five minutes to get their car sputtering to life again, and soon they departed. As they were leaving, the oldest grabbed my hand and told me earnestly, “Whatever is happening in your life that is bad, I know it will be fine.”

People really are awesome. The overwhelmingly kind response to the events of the past few days has been tremendous, and it’s such a blessing to have so many friends, colleagues and readers who care about the work that myself and the rest of the incredibly talented editorial team at GOOD were doing.

I’ll be writing a lot more here in the weeks to come, so you can look forward to (or dread) that. More news to follow about where me and my work will end up next; I’m hunting for jobs and freelance opportunities, and if you have either to offer, get in touch—first initial last name at g mail dot com. I’m also going to spend most of June enjoying Southern California, so if you’re in the area, look me up.

2 responses to “

  1. Go Tim! I was sorry to hear of this news but I know you’re on to bigger and better things. you rock!

  2. Happy to buy you and your now departed coworkers an Anchor Steam Beer. Burritos go well with a good Steam.

Leave a Reply

